Wuthering Heights

“My great thought in living is Heathcliff. If all else perished, and he remained, I should still continue to be… My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks… Nelly, I am Heathcliff! He’s always, always in my mind: not as a pleasure…  but as my own being.”

WUTHERING HEIGHTS is a classic work of artistry and genius. Today, one hundred and thirty years after it was published, it is still a totally absorbing and utterly compelling novel of a grim passion, of a glorious love.

Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff must take their places amongst the great lovers of the world. Their complete obsession, and possession of each other, symbolises the oldest, the grandest, and the most romantic theme in literature…

Written by Emily Bronte, first published 1847.

Two more editions of my all-time favourite gothic Wuthering Heights.

The one above is the English Corgi edition published in 1978. This one to the right is the earlier American version published by Bantam books in April 1974.

Apart from the cover art, both are similar versions, containing the same excerpts from the author’s diary, letters, poetry and early writings, with an afterword, biographical sketch and notes on the text by Baruch Hochman.

The cover art for the above seems to be painted by Robert McGinnis – I found a link  featuring  some of his artwork for Wuthering Heights – it is very similar to this except there is no cottage in the background and the foreground is much more desolate. But the woman in the picture looks identical.  I can’t  make up my mind! Some links to the original cover art are HERE and HERE.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hauntedhearts.wordpress.com/2010/12/06/wuthering-heights-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. this looks like a really great book

    • If you’ve not read it yet, you’re in for a treat. She wrote some great poetry too. All the best, sara

  2. I really liked your page. Thanks for all the titles! Was looking for new Gothic Romances to read. LOVE the Book Covers!!

    • hi seawitch, glad you like the blog! I’m hoping to review lots more titles over the next few months and am always on the lookout for new gothics to read too!
      sara

  3. […] The picture is from this. […]


Leave a comment